briefly, five years blogging


As we approach the holidays, it is also the time of year I remember launching this space back in October 2008. The older posts are more infrequent; sometimes I cringe to think that people can dig that far back and find something almost certainly stupid that I wrote then. Very seldom, if ever, do I redact posts–I stand by everything I write, am willing to be held to account for my words, and I collegially expect the same from those who comment–aside from reviewing and editing technical errors, typos and the sort.

Five years on the interwebs is something approaching an eon. To that end, I’m spending the rest of the year in anniversary mode. There will be a Christmas post, as usual, but throughout the month of December, I’ve requested the help of friends and long-time readers who have chosen some of their favorite posts past and present for me to revisit and repost. With a broader reader base than ever before, I wanted to try to get a sampling of some of my older work out there.

Two volunteered, and I’ll entertain other options from all of you through Thanksgiving. You can voice your opinion by liking a previous post, commenting on this post with the title of the post (and, if you’d like, why–I enjoy your feedback and perspective very much), or e-mailing, tweeting or facebooking me privately.

While I will recognize them both in each director’s cut post next month, I commend you to their blogs, both of which I enjoy reading regularly: Andrew Burt, proprietor of Snobbin: Beautiful Trash of the Indie Cultural Gutter, has been a good friend of mine for close to ten years. He’s an outstanding writer who blogs about all sorts of cultural ephemera, and often posts prose, stories and essays about life and music and pop culture.

Jon Gibson runs Confessions of a Recovering P.K., and is often a very personal, thoughtful space where he ruminates on culture and theology, and the inherent tension between being human and in vocational ministry. Please don’t let that scare you off, if you’re not religiously inclined; his work has a distinctly human tone that is very easily relatable. He’s been a friend of mine from grad school on and lives too far away.

As always, I thank you for reading, subscribing, and all points in between. I’m hoping for some other interesting goodness–a revamped selection of swag, in particular–to be coming around the bend, as well. –b.

Leave a Reply

